Your Cart is Empty

The String Quartet No. 1 in D major, Opus 11, was Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s first completed string quartet of three string quartets.

Composed in February 1871
Premiered in Moscow on 16/28 March 1871

This 2nd movement was based on a folk song the composer heard at his sister’s house at Kamenka, whistled by a house painter. When the quartet was performed at a tribute concert for Leo Tolstoy, the author was said to have been brought to tears by this movement. “…Tolstoy, sitting next to me and listening to the Andante of my First Quartet, burst into tears.”

Performed by The Accord Quartet,Budapest Hungary 2014
Length:  6:54

What's included in your purchase:

  • Video of live recording so you can see the players communicate, their bowings, and fingerings
  • Each instrument was recorded in isolation during the live performance.  With this feature, you can play any instrument, all the instruments, or any combination of the instruments.
  • Scrolling notation of your preferred instrument
  • PDFs of the complete score and individual parts for printing and markup
  • Slow-down up to 50% without change in pitch
  • Looping 
  • 14 day, no questions asked, return guarantee

Tchaikovsky: String Quartet No. 1 in D (Op. 11) Movement 2

News & Updates

Sign up to get the latest on sales, new releases and more …